On 15th August 1997 as a gift of Golden Independence of India, the Honourable Chief Minister J H Patel , Karnataka Government, inaugurated the new district at M.M. Hills . On the same day the then Deputy Chief Minister Siddaramaiah along with District Minister H. Nagappa, MLA Vatal Nagaraj who had lead many agitations for the formation of Chamarajanagar District, MLA H S Mahadevaprasad, MLA A.R. Krishna Murthy inaugurated the Deputy Commissioner’s Office of Chamarajanagar District. This function was presided by Ex- Governor of Kerala B. Rachaiah also the elderly statesman and leader of the Chamarajanagar Lok Sabha Constitutency. This District was one of the seven new districts formed on that day. Those seven districts are Chamarajanagar, Udupi, Davanagere, Haveri, Koppal, Gadag, Bagalkote. These seven new Districts was the result of reports by Vasudev Rao Samithi, Hundikar Samithi, Gaddhigowdar Samithi, Zilla Horata Samithi etc.

Chamarajanagar is the southernmost district in the state of Karnataka india.It was carved out of the original larger mysore district in the year 1997. chamarajanagar town is the headquarters of this district.

Chamarajanagar was earlier known as Sri Arikottara. Chamaraja Wodeyar, the Wodeyar of Mysuru was born here and hence this place was renamed after him. The Vijaya Parsvanath Basadi, a holy jain shrine was constructed by Punisadandanayaka, the commander of the Hoysala king Gangaraja in the year 1117 AD.

To know more


  • Social Models
    • Decent Employment
    • Food Security
    • Land Tenure
  • Economic Models
    • Land Productivity
    • Profitability
    • Resilience
  • Environmental Models
    • Soil Health
    • Water Use
    • Fertilizer Pollution Risk
    • Pesticide Risk
    • Biodiversity

Related Datasets

Related Datastories